The state of California has a number of agencies at the state and federal levels that regulate healthcare facilities licensing and certification. Among the agencies involved in the California CNA Certification process are the California Department of Public Health Licensing and Certification Program, and the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services. Licensing and Certification is responsible for ensuring that all of the state’s healthcare facilities comply with local and state laws. They also handle licensing for the administrators of long-term healthcare facilities, home health aides, and the California CNA certification.
If you live in California and have completed the training program for CNAs, you must still take the state mandated exam in order to work as a CNA. The California CNA certification no longer requires that a fee be charged to take the exam. Every state has its own regulations about the training and certification process, and in California, it’s no longer necessary to pay the fee to take the exam, nor is it necessary to be charged anything if your license has expired or is in delinquency. In this case, delinquency means that the license has been expired for more than 30 days. Once you have completed the necessary coursework and clinical training to be a CNA, you must take the exam. The written exam usually consists of approximately 60 questions. Another portion of the exam must be taken in a clinical setting where the student is observed in hands-on care of a patient. In California, when a license is to renewed after two years, the CNA must take a training to become re-certified. When your license is coming up for renewal within two years, you must take 48 hours of training as a refresher course.